Dagdha's Blog

Searching for my voice

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on November 16, 2012

As you may have noticed, this blog is currently in the midst of an overhaul. I’ve decided to create a separate site for my fiction, which is currently under construction but should be up by next week. My goal here is comb through previous posts with some heavy handed editing, fixing or removing the posts that lack substance or appear to be trying too hard.

Though I’ve kept a blog for many years, it has only been in the last few that I’ve taken a sincere interest in writing. I’ve made a real effort in the arena of research, studying countless columns of writing advice and the classics of greats like Thompson and Hitchens. But I have not focused on developing my own voice, unless you count the stimulant-fueled diatribes mimicking Jack Kerouac’s portrayal of Neal Cassady more than the dialectical prose of authors I admire. As Stephen Fry acutely pointed out in his first autobiography, “Mimesis is not the same as Reason,” which, at least in my opinion, requires an authentic voice.

It takes 10,000 hours to become an expert in something, so I’ve started to keep track of the time I spend writing in the hope that it will motivate me through the arduous journey of developing a style I can call my own. In the meantime, bear with me and I’ll keep posting the stages of my evolution.

Leave a Reply

