Dagdha's Blog

NaNoWriMo 2012

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on October 26, 2012

I think it’s safe to say that I’ve failed to meet the Halloween deadline for completing my novella. In truth, I didn’t even finish rewriting the short story on which it was going to be based. I could lie to myself and say I’m in good company, as many authors I admire have been notorious for missing deadlines, but that would be a egomaniacal exercise in mental masturbation. Therefore I’m going to try a different approach.

National Novel Writing Month is an annual novel writing project held each November in which writers across the globe attempt to complete a novel of 50,000 words or more. This may seem like a nigh impossible task, requiring approximately 1,7000 words a day, but that’s because the emphasis is purely on writing, not revising. The final product is supposed to be filled with enough grammatical and syntactical mistakes to give your internal editor an aneurism, which sounds ideal considering that pedantic bastard is the Loki to my literary Thor.

It’s a daunting task and I loathe failure, but that’s something success doesn’t come without. So I’m going to give it my best shot while continuing to work on my collaboration projects. If I fuck up and don’t succeed, at least it’ll be a few more hours of experience under my belt. In the words of Wilde, “Ambition is the last refuge of failure.”

Leave a Reply

