Dagdha's Blog

Public Accountability

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on May 9, 2012

When it comes to achieving goals, there are two schools of thought: some will say that announcing your goals makes them less likely to succeed because of the minimal positive feedback you attain from the moment of announcement, while others will argue quite the opposite – that public declaration institutes a degree of accountability.  Being the annoyingly stubborn and self-obsessive perfectionist that I am, I fall into the latter camp, driven by a fear of disappointment to others and especially myself. So here and now I will make a rather bold assertion:

By the time I turn 28, which is 1 year, 3 months, 21 days, 4 hours, and 39 minutes away, I will manage to have a piece of my writing published somewhere besides my own damn blog.  I haven’t the faintest idea what the piece will be about, but if I am to have any chance in life or hell of becoming what I consider a proper writer, then I need to start now, before the world destroys itself and beats me to that infernal playground.

1 year, 3 months, 21 days, 4 hours, and 35 minutes… The clock is ticking.

Leave a Reply

