Dagdha's Blog

Minute Reprieve

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on March 16, 2012

Sweat pours down my face as my lungs gasp in desperation for more air. My heart feels like it’s going to explode. That was only two minutes? Seemed twice as long as the last two, but I guess time isn’t as objective as we like to think. Terence McKenna once mused, “What’s longer? A million years in which nothing happens, or a minute in which a million things happen?” Wait. Stay focused. Breathe. Deep breaths so you slow your heart rate. There isn’t much time. I try to swallow a few gulps of water, but it doesn’t seem worth the effort. I can’t drink and breathe at the same time. I barely comprehend the voice talking to me, which is muffled by the surrounding chaos. Doesn’t matter though, even in a library I’m not sure I’d be able to hear over the pulsating bass of blood coursing past my ear drums. Two more minutes and it’ll be over. I close my eyes and slowly inhale, blocking everything out as I reflect on the last three months of constant pain and fatigue. My chest and abdomen expand as my lungs fill to capacity, like a balloon about to burst. I pause for a moment, allowing the oxygen to saturate my blood and relieve the lactic tension in my muscles. All thoughts disappear. Exhaling slowly, I come back to reality with renewed clarity, focusing the connection between my body and mind. Instantly my eyes open, staring at my enemy with unwavering intensity and featureless eyes mute of intent. I approach the middle of the ring and wait for the final round to start.

Leave a Reply

