Dagdha's Blog

Cover Letter

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on January 30, 2012

I don’t normally post things like a cover letter I wrote for a recent application, and the following isn’t exactly my opus magnum, but my dad said he thought it was “pretty ingenious,” which brought a rather stupid grin to my face, and that’s something I’d like to remember when I look back in the future.  If you like it and want to offer me a job, I’m always looking for new opportunities.

Dear Apple:

Let’s be honest – everyone wants to work for you.  As of this morning your stock surpassed Exxon Mobil, making you the most valuable company in the world.  Your products are omnipresent and have come to define a new era in technology, what Michio Kaku calls the era of “Ubiquitous Computing,” and the next step in our evolution towards becoming a Type 1 Civilization.  As soon as you announced iPad textbooks last week, people began discussing a publishing paradigm shift akin to what you accomplished with music.  Above all, everyone I know who works for Apple loves his/her job, which is arguably the new American Dream.  And although such claims could be construed as ingratiated pandering, Apple’s perpetual forward-thinking approach and care for its employees are the reasons I personally want to work for you.

I have an extensive technical background and work history, particularly with Apple products.  I have worked for over five years diagnosing and repairing computers on multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac OS, and numerous Linux distributions.  In the last two years my work has shifted towards project management, allowing me to expand my skill set and garner valuable experience helping to build a small VNO company that specializes in holistic broadband management.  I am currently responsible for managing the accounts of our client base, which includes several national retail chains like Guitar Center, Vans Shoes, and VF Corp., as well as providing Level 1 technical support for all of our VoIP services. 

I am constantly searching for a new challenge by which I can learn and grow.  I think my diverse educational and professional backgrounds could provide unique insight at a revolutionary company like Apple.  Thank you for your time, and please let me know if I can answer any questions or provide any additional information.

Sincerest regards,

Dagdha

Leave a Reply

