Dagdha's Blog

Freedom

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on August 16, 2011

While most kids discussed sports, television, or recent events around the dinner table growing up, my siblings and I debated topics like politics, astrophysics, or philosophy.  We usually received strange looks from dinner guests who were not accustomed to such young, abstract deipnosophists, but we didn’t care.  In fact, my twin brother and I often got into trouble with adults for asking controversial questions, born more out of genuine curiosity than some malevolent motive.  Up to a certain age, any attempted retribution for our inquisitiveness was met swiftly with the cliche rebuttal, “You’re not the boss of me!”  Decades later the same mentality persists, albeit I’ve refined my arguments a bit.

Those who know me best might argue that I’m a cynic and much too jaded for someone my age, but I grew up in a house that taught me to think critically and ask questions (much to the detriment of my parents’ intended hopes).  Consequently I have developed a severe allergy to superficial ideologies, which run rampant through society and hide behind the guise of politics.  Whether it’s in the White House or the work place, the majority of people fight for power or money (the signifier of power) in an unbalanced system designed to provide the illusion of freedom and equality.  The three systems of belief that Americans take the most pride in – democracy, capitalism, and Christianity – are at their core methods of control.  Democracy provides the illusion of equality while empowering a few, capitalism creates class disparity while touting the buzzword “fair,” and Christianity justifies both as the will of God.  More people might realize this and get pissed off if they weren’t too distracted by materialism, popular media, or the latest prescription drug for a disease dreamed up by pharmaceutical companies.

I don’t like writing about politics, but it seems to be something from which I can’t escape.  I have a proclivity towards anarchism, which is not the naive belief in chaos that the modern anachronism seems to convey.  Emma Goldman, a twentieth century political activist and pivotal leader of the anarchist movement, once wrote, “Anarchism… stands for liberation of the human mind from the dominion of religion; the liberation of the human body from the dominion of property; liberation from shackles and restraint of government. It stands for social order based on the free grouping of individuals.”  The concept of true freedom is pure and simple, but it’s not easy.

Most people claim they want freedom, but they do not realize that true freedom would rob them of the amenities of governmental and religious control – things like welfare, social order, civic services (police, firemen, public roads, etc.), and the ideological comfort of “knowing” their place in some eternal plan.  Most people just want the freedom to be comfortable.

I look around and can’t help but think that Huxley, not Orwell, seems to have been right.

Leave a Reply

