Dagdha's Blog

Clever Title

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on April 26, 2010

It seems everyday I tell myself that I will go home and write.  Then, after work, after martial arts, after calisthenics, and after eating and showering, I find myself completely exhausted and feeling like anything I could write wouldn’t be worth the effort.  My biggest problem is not motivation though, it’s a lack of time.

Despite my best efforts at efficient time management and the advice of Mr. Franklin Covey, I consistently feel that I am not doing as much as I should.  Things like reading, writing, and social interactions are increasingly superseded by work, teaching responsibilities, and my inability to say ‘no’ to people.

Like my father, I think I am a workaholic who needs to feel continually productive and as though I am making some sort of progress in whatever it is I am doing.  Unfortunately this seems to be a very lonely mentality, especially in a town filled with superficiality and apathy.

At the moment I am extremely sleep deprived after an epic weekend at Joshua Tree and Disneyland, so I’m going to stop writing before I ramble anymore.  The basic idea that I wanted to convey and so ineffectively executed is this:

I can feel myself starting to become a workaholic, which I grew up telling myself wouldn’t happen.  My friendships have suffered and any semblance of a personal life seems to be slipping away.  I deeply miss college and the sense of accomplishment it provided while still allowing for countless new experiences, relationships, and late nights of mischief.

Maybe it’s time for a new hobby.

Leave a Reply

