Dagdha's Blog

Valentine’s Day

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on February 14, 2010

I have at least three blog entries I’ve written but have not posted due to my obstinate nature as a perfectionist, but I’ve decided that today I’m just going to post whatever mental vomit appears on my screen.

In the last three months my life has taken many unexpected turns, but for the first time in a couple of years I am genuinely content.  I recently started a great new job with a promising VNO company – salary, benefits, paid vacations, the whole package.  Although I’m stuck wearing a shirt and tie while inhabiting a cubicle for forty hours a week, I really like the company and the people with whom I work (and my action figures have finally found a change of scenery decorating my pseudo-office).  For years I’ve fervently fought against the idea of working in such an environment, but it’s really not as bad as I had imagined, and the paychecks are nice too.

Away from work I’ve started teaching Savate to kids at my martial arts studio, which is honestly one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done.  It’s strange being called “Mr Adams,” but I always smile when I hear the little kids say it.  Watching the kids, who range from ages five to thirteen, jump around kicking and punching is extremely entertaining.  The most rewarding part though is when they finish a particular move or combination and then look at me with bright eyes and a wide smile when they finally get it.  I may not be teaching Latin or Greek, but somehow I don’t think I would get the same sense of satisfaction from doing so.

With what little free time I do have – between work, teaching, and my own training – I spend studying either eastern philosophy or neurochemistry, both of which I wish I could go back to college and add as additional majors.  And after many years of an on-again-off-again relationship, I’ve completely given up Warcrack, but its place has been filled by the PS3, which has made me realize how much I’ve missed console gaming.

Overall, I’m excited with where my life is headed.  In the next six months I’ll be leaving the country for the first time, moving into an apartment with one of my best friends, and hopefully deciding what my next big goals are now that I’ve reached such a stable place in my life.

Being Valentine’s Day, I guess I should conclude this post with something about relationships.  In the last few years I’ve been through a number of them – some good, some bad, and others I wish I could undo altogether.  I would say I learned a lot from each of them, but unfortunately I’m a hopeless romantic and often repeat former mistakes at the first thought of experiencing real love like I have in the past.  I tend to get carried away with grand gestures or irrational thoughts when I am otherwise a very logical person.  Today I heard someone say, “Love is patient. Love is kind.  Love is slowly losing your mind.” – to which I’d have to agree.  Although I’d like to find someone who is as idealistic and foolish about love as I am, I’ve given up trying to find that person for the time being.  For now I’m just going to enjoy life and its simple pleasures, like rock climbing, motorcycles, and the occasional kick in the face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

