Dagdha's Blog

Photography and Nightmares

Posted in Uncategorized by dagdha on July 8, 2009

When I was younger I had a reoccurring nightmare that still sends shivers up my spine.  Like most dreams, I could attempt to elucidate the specifics but the narrative would end up nonsensical and seemingly foolish, thus in this instance only one detail is important – the dream was always in black and white.

I once recall having a rather in-depth discussion about photography with my grandfather, whose skill my dad greatly admired and therefore made him one hell of a photographer.  I asked if he preferred black and white photography or color, and without any hesitation he responded with the latter.  He explained that color captures so much about emotion, setting, and life, which he argued was the ultimate goal of photography.

Since that conversation I have spent countless hours simply thinking about color and specifically its two-way correlation with emotion.  The world always seems painted in bleached dismal hues when life is emotionally void, and I think that is one of the reasons my youthful nightmare still scares me – I was trapped in a world that felt utterly void of emotion.

I still enjoy taking black and white photographs, but right now I don’t think photoshop could even desaturate the world.

Leave a Reply

